top of page
Search
  • Kate Tuite

Remixing Cultures

Updated: Mar 1, 2019

Remixing- the act of blending, mashing, and collaborating different sources into one. What happens when you put a typical American suburban white girl in the bustling city of Dublin, Ireland? A lot of remixing of cultures. Growing up in the states is all I know. I mean technically I have lived in Germany when I was younger, but I don't remember my everyday life, just bits and pieces of certain situations.

So living in Pittsburgh is all I know. Now just imagine what it's like to be thrown into a culture that is pretty different from my own, I have to do some blending of what I know and what I am learning to survive.

Small fridges and freezers? Okay I guess I am going shopping every other day for groceries. J-walking being more of a sport than illegal activity? Sure I can do this (I may or may not of almost got hit by some double-decker buses a couple times). Lay back Irish that go to the pubs more than the library? Okay

Cliffs of Moher

I have to say no for this one, we are hitting the library then the pub, I never expected Americans would be better at studying than anyone in the world.

Also I introduced my Irish friends to plain lightly salted Lays I brought in my suitcase. They don't have plain chips. So there we were eating plain lays chips, drinking some Guinness, and going over international tariffs, if that's not remixing Irish and American culture I don't know what is.

My favorite is when we started to exchange "lingo". My one friend even asked a waitress where the restrooms where, not the toilet. Making the Irish proper one Irish at a time. I also found myself using some Irish slang after a pint too many of Guinness. I found myself calling an obnoxious rugby player a rugger bugger, which is slang for a obnoxious posh rugby player. I promise you, saying that with an American accent comes out weird.

What I'm getting at here is I went over a 100% American, but came back with some Irish in me. I stole some of their culture. I sometimes call a line a queue and find myself wanting to walk with orange hand at cross walks. I am a walking and breathing remix of cultures.

That is probably my favorite thing about my adventure across the pond.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page